

Report on the September 27, 2018 Board of Governors Annual Meeting

From: Mr. Sean Speer - Board of Governors Member

Members: Ms. Ann Dumyn; Ms. Angela Maltese; Mr. Gerry Martin; Mr. Ian McCormack; Mr. Brian McKinnon; Dr. Moira McPherson; Mr. Ross Murray; Mr. Lou Pero; Ms. Kathyrn Rippey; Ms. Catherine Siemieniuk; Mr. Sean Speer; Mr. David Tamblyn (Chair); Ms. Cathy Tuckwell; Ms. Maria Vasanelli; Mr. Nathan Wainwright; Mr. Murray Walberg

The Board of Governors met on September 27, 2018 in the Senate Chambers (UC2002), Thunder Bay campus.

The following reports were provided for information:

- Annual report from the Chair of the Board
- September report from the President
- Report on Appointments external Adjunct Professors, department Chairs
- Annual report from the Audit & Risk Committee
- Annual report form the External Relations Committee
- Annual report from the Finance & Operations Committee
- Annual report from the Governance & Nominating Committee
- Annual report from the Learning & Research Committee
- Report from the Senate (from the September 17, 2018 meeting)
- Independent Auditor's Report
- Research Ethics Board (REB) Annual Report and Letter of Compliance

The following appointments to the Board were approved:

- Officers of the Board:
 - Chair Ross Murray (one year term)
 - Vice Chair Angela Maltese (one year term)
 - Past Chair David Tamblyn (one year term)
 - President Moira McPherson (one year term)
 - Secretary Barb Eccles (one year term)
- Standing Committee Chairs (one year term):
 - Ann Dumyn Audit and Risk
 - Brian McKinnon External Relations
 - Angela Maltese Finance and Operations
 - Kathryn Rippey Governance and Nominating
 - Catherine Siemieniuk Learning and Research
- 2018-19 Standing Committee Membership
- Faculty Senate Member: Christine Gottardo (three year term)
- External Members:

- Wendy Walberg (three year term)
- Robert Arnone (three year term)
- Full Time Faculty Staff Member: Maria Vasanelli (three year term)
- Alumni Association Member: Michel Beaulieu (two year term)
- Student Member: Nathan Wainwright (one year term)
- Board Member Recommended to the Ogimaawin-Aboriginal Governance Council: Ann Dumyn (one year term)
- Board Member Recommended to the Senate: Sean Speer (one year term)
- Lakehead University Employee Pension Plan Advisory Committee:
 - Lakehead University Vice President of Administration and Finance (one year term)
 - Associate Vice President of Human Resources (one year term)
- Board of the Professional Staff Pension Plan:
 - Ann Dumyn (one year)
 - John Guerard (one year)
- BDO Canada LLP as auditors of the University for the 2018-19 fiscal year
- Faculty and Student members to the 2018-19 Judicial Panel

The following motions were approved:

- Amendments to the Board Bylaws
- Amendments to the Audit and Risk Committee Terms of Reference
- 2017-18 Financial Statements of Lakehead University
- Amendments to the Capital Debt Policy
- Investment Resolution

An in-camera meeting was held to discuss items of personnel, legal, or real estate nature, and other sensitive or confidential matters.

The next scheduled meeting of the Board of Governors will be on November 29, 2018, in the Senate Chambers (UC2002), Thunder Bay campus.