

Report from Senate Member on the Board of Governors - September 16th, 2013

Board of Governors Meeting – June 7th, 2013

The last Board of Governors Meeting was held in Orillia. A number of tasks accompanied this meeting which included convocation in Orillia.

There were many reports and agenda items included in the Board of Governors agenda. Some of these items The Board of Governors approved included:

- The 2013/2014 Lakehead University operating budget.
- The Pension Investment Fund Financial Statements.

Included in this meeting was the list of members of the Board of Governors who term is expiring in 2013. These include:

- Mr. Ken Chase Elected Member.
- Mr. Kevin Cleghorn Elected Member.
- Ms. Maria Phipps Elected Member.
- Ms. Judy Flett Elected Member.
- Dr. Carney Matheson Senate member.
- Ms. Nancy Bouchard O-AGC Member
- Mr. Daniel Bacsa LUSU Member
- Mr. Mark Tilbury Alumni Association Member

The Board of Governors approved the following positions:

Promotion to full Professor:

- Dr. Gautam Das, Department of Physics.
- Dr. Hubert de Guise, Department of Physics.
- Dr. Tim Kaiser, Department of Interdisciplinary Studies and Department of Anthropology.

Adjunct appointments:

• Dr. Julie Berashevich as an External Adjunct Professor to the Department of Physics for the term commencing July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2017.

Appointment of Chairs/Directors

- Dr. Lori Chambers, Chair of the Department of Women's Studies, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2014.
- Dr. Dennis McPherson, Chair of the Department of Indigenous Learning, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.
- Dr. Glenn Colton, Chair of the Department of Music, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.
- Dr. Carney Matheson, Chair of the Department of Anthropology, effective July 1, 2013 through June 30, 2016.

Submitted by Carney Matheson, Senate Member Board of Governors