Senate Nominations Committee

tel: (807) 346-7929 fax: (807) 346-7992 a trevisanutto@lakeheadu.ca

MEMORANDUM

Date: 2014-03-11

To: Karen Roche, University Secretary

Subject: Senate Nominations Committee report to Senate, 17 March 2014 meeting

(1) The Senate Nominations Committee (SNC) met on 7 March 2014. Based on the interest to serve forms circulated by the Secretary's Office, and taking into account the responsibility of the committee to give the widest possible diversity in the committees (by department/school, gender, campus), the following recommendations are presented for Senate approval:

| Senate Academic Committee | | | | | |
|--|-------------|-----------------|--------------------|--|--|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | | | |
| Dr. Sree Kurissery | 2011 - 2014 | Dr. Osama Salem | immediately - 2017 | | |
| Dr. David A. Richards 2011-2014 Dr. Sree Kurissery 2014 - 2017 | | | | | |
| Dr. Craig MacKinnon | 2013-2016 | Dr. Eshan Azar | 2014 - 2016 | | |

| Senate Budget Committee | | | | |
|-------------------------|-----------|------------------|-----------|--|
| Past Member | Term | Replacement | Term | |
| Dr. Justin Jiang | 2012-2014 | Dr. Amir Azimi | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Naqi Sayed | 2012-2014 | Dr. Donald Kerr | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Judith Leggatt | 2012-2014 | Dr. Curtis Fogel | 2014-2016 | |

| Senate Organization Committee | | | | |
|-----------------------------------|-----------|-------------------|-----------|--|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | | |
| Dr. Qing-Lai Dang | 2012-2015 | Dr. Serajul Islam | 2014-2015 | |

| Joint Senate Committee for NOSM | | | |
|-----------------------------------|-----------|-----------------|-----------|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | |
| Dr. Richard Berg | 2012-2015 | Dr. Paolo Sanzo | 2014-2015 |



| Senate Continuing Education and Distributed Learning Committee | | | | |
|--|-----------|------------------------|-----------|--|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | | |
| Dr. Peter Lee | 2011-2014 | Dr. Rosario Turvey | 2014-2017 | |
| Dr. Carney Matheson | 2011-2014 | Dr. Frederico Oliveria | 2014-2017 | |
| Dr. Xuequn Wang | 2012-2015 | Dr. Yu Xia | 2014-2015 | |

| Senate Honorary Degrees Committee | | | | |
|-----------------------------------|-----------|---------------------------|-----------|--|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | | |
| Dr. Laurence Fiddick | 2012-2014 | Dr. Nandakumar Kanavillil | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Pallavi V. Das | 2012-2014 | Dr. Lingyun (Lily) Wu | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Liping Liu | 2012-2014 | Dr. Shannon Zurevinski | 2014-2016 | |

| Senate Research Committee | | | | |
|-----------------------------------|-----------|-----------------|-----------|--|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | | |
| NSERC | | | | |
| Dr. Azim Mallik | 2012-2015 | Dr. Osama Salem | 2012-2015 | |

| Senate Teaching and Learning Committee | | | | |
|--|-------------------|--------------------|-----------|--|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | | |
| Dr. Monica Ilie | 2012-2014 | Dr. Jerry Phillips | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Sonja Mastrangelo | Dr. Les Fleischer | 2014-2016 | | |
| Dr. Jason Blahuta | 2012-2014 | Dr. Patrick Cain | 2014-2016 | |

| Senate Undergraduate Scholarships and Bursaries Committee | | | | |
|---|-----------|--------------------|-----------------------------|--|
| Past Member Term Replacement Term | | | | |
| Prof. Shane Strickland | 2011-2014 | Dr. Juan Pernia | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Yanglin Gong | 2012-2014 | Dr. Erin Pearson | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Paul Carr | 2012-2015 | Dr. Cathy Phillips | 2014-2015 | |
| Dr. Aris Carastathis | 2012-2015 | Dr. Hosam El-Ocla | Jan 1, 2015 - June 30, 2015 | |



<u>NOTE:</u> The terms of reference for the SAAC have changed significantly, placing more faculty members on the committee and eliminating the "reserve" position (all members are now full members of the committee)

| Senate Academic Appeals Committee | | | | |
|-----------------------------------|-----------|---------------------------------|-----------|--|
| Past Member | Term | Replacement | Term | |
| Dr. Matthew Leitch | 2012-2014 | Dr. Birbal Singh | 2014-2017 | |
| Dr. Tamara Varney | 2012-2014 | Dr. Beatrice Vernier Larochette | 2014-2017 | |
| New | N/A | Dr. Phillip Allingham | 2014-2017 | |
| New | N/A | Dr. Aicheng Chen | 2014-2016 | |
| New | N/A | Dr. Helle Moller | 2014-2016 | |
| New | N/A | Dr. Michael Hoechsmann | 2014-2016 | |
| Dr. Kristin Burnett | 2013-2015 | Dr. Tamara Varney | 2014-2015 | |

- (2) The SNC has also made a list of potential replacements for its own committee, which will be brought to the Senate Executive Committee, as per the terms of reference for the SNC.
- (3) The committee notes that there are still vacancies on Senate Undergraduate Studies Committee and Senate Organization Committee. A second call for nominations to these two committees will be issued.

Respectfully Submitted,

Graig Mackimon

Craig MacKinnon, Chair, Senate Nominations Committee