External Research Funding Opportunities

Important Note Regarding Internal Deadlines
The External Funding Opportunities Database shows opportunities by external deadline.  All external funding applications must be submitted to the Office of Research Services for internal review at least two weeks prior to the external deadline. Special competitions may sometimes involve earlier internal deadlines.

Agencysort descending Program Deadline
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Partnership Engage Grants Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Connection Grants Monday, August 1, 2022
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Partnership Engage Grants Thursday, September 15, 2022
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council SSHRC: Special Response Fund for Trainees (Ukraine) Thursday, December 22, 2022
Ontario Genomics Institute Genomic Applications Partnership Program (GAPP) Wednesday, August 17, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Discovery Horizons (pilot) Thursday, June 16, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Alliance International Quantum grants Tuesday, January 31, 2023
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Arthur B. McDonald Fellowships Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council NSERC: Special Response Fund for Trainees (Ukraine) Thursday, December 22, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Idea to Innovation grants Monday, June 27, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Idea to Innovation grants Monday, September 26, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Alliance Consortia Quantum grants Friday, October 21, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Discovery Grant Tuesday, August 2, 2022
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Research Tools and Instruments Grants Program Tuesday, October 25, 2022
MITACS Mitacs Globalink Research Internship (GRI) Wednesday, June 8, 2022
MITACS Elevate (for Postdoctoral Fellows) Wednesday, July 6, 2022
International Development Research Centre Call for Concept Notes: Climate Adaptation and Resilience (CLARE) Tuesday, June 7, 2022
Government of Canada New Frontiers in Research Fund: 2022 Exploration Competition Tuesday, June 28, 2022
Government of Canada Canada Biomedical Research Fund: Stage 1: Research hubs selection Thursday, May 19, 2022
Government of Canada Banting Postdoctoral Fellowships Wednesday, September 21, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Multiple Sclerosis Research Program Funding Opportunities - June Deadlines Thursday, June 23, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Prostate Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities: June Deadline Thursday, June 2, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Multiple Sclerosis Research Program Funding Opportunities - August Deadline Tuesday, August 2, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Prostate Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities - July Deadlines Thursday, July 7, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Prostate Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities - August Deadlines Thursday, August 4, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Neurofibromatosis Research Program Funding Opportunities Monday, June 20, 2022
Department of Defense DOD Bone Marrow Failure Research Program Funding Opportunities Wednesday, June 29, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Peer Reviewed Orthopaedic Research Program Funding Opportunities Thursday, June 16, 2022
Department of Defense Congressionally Directed Medical Research Programs (CDMRP) DoD Funding Opportunities Lung Cancer Research Programs - July Deadline Wednesday, July 13, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Combat Readiness Medical Research Program Funding Opportunity Thursday, June 23, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Kidney Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities Thursday, June 2, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Funding Opportunities for Breast Cancer Research - April Deadlines Thursday, April 28, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Tick-Borne Disease Research Program Funding Opportunities Thursday, May 26, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Funding Opportunities for the Epilepsy Research Program Thursday, May 19, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Vision Research Program Funding Opportunities Friday, July 15, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Hearing Restoration Research Program Funding Opportunities Friday, July 22, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Lupus Research Program Funding Opportunities Tuesday, August 16, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Peer Reviewed Alzheimer's Disease Research Funding Opportunities Friday, June 17, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Autism Research Funding Opportunities Monday, May 23, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Pancreatic Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities Friday, July 8, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Spinal Cord Injury Research Program Funding Opportunities Monday, May 23, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Peer Reviewed Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities - July Deadlines Tuesday, July 12, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Peer Reviewed Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities - August Deadline Wednesday, August 17, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Tuberous Sclerosis Complex Research Program Funding Announcement Thursday, June 30, 2022
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : Mental Health in the Early Years Implementation Science Thursday, June 23, 2022
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : Pan-Canadian Clinical Trials Consortium Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Operating Grant : Clinical Trials Projects Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Special Response Fund for Trainees (Ukraine) – Information for CIHR grant holders Thursday, December 22, 2022
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Training Grant : Clinical Trials Training Platforms Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Catalyst Grant : Crisis Line and App-based Support for Public Safety Thursday, May 19, 2022
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Operating Grant : Psilocybin-assisted Psychotherapy Tuesday, September 6, 2022
Canadian Cancer Society CCS Awards for Excellence in Cancer Research – Inclusive Excellence Prize Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Canadian Cancer Society CCS Accelerator Grants Wednesday, May 25, 2022
Department of Defense DoD Peer Reviewed Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities - May Deadlines Wednesday, May 25, 2022
The Wenner-Gren Foundation Engaged Research Grants Monday, August 1, 2022
The Wenner-Gren Foundation Conference and Workshop Grants Wednesday, June 1, 2022
Burroughs Wellcome Fund Investigators in the Pathogenesis of Infectious Disease (PATH) Thursday, July 14, 2022
Burroughs Wellcome Fund Climate Change and Human Health Seed Grants Wednesday, June 29, 2022
Burroughs Wellcome Fund Climate and Health Interdisciplinary Award Wednesday, May 25, 2022
North Atlantic Treaty Organization NATO Science for Peace and Security (SPS) Programme: Call for Proposals Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Brain Canada Brain Canada Rising Stars Trainee Awards Thursday, June 2, 2022
National Research Council of Canada (NRC) Killam Prizes Thursday, June 30, 2022
National Research Council of Canada (NRC) Dorothy Killam Fellowship Friday, June 17, 2022
Human Frontier Science Program Postdoctoral Fellowships Wednesday, May 18, 2022
GlycoNet Collaborative Team 2022-2023 Wednesday, April 27, 2022
GlycoNet Call for Proposals Wednesday, May 18, 2022
Parkinson Canada Digital Health Application Grant Monday, June 6, 2022
Global Affairs Canada / Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council International Policy Ideas Challenge Friday, May 20, 2022
Kids Brain Health Network KBHN – Early Career Investigator & Mentorship Awards Monday, June 13, 2022
Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation Canada Mortgage and Housing Corporation: Housing Research Awards Friday, July 29, 2022
Genome Canada/Ontario Genomics Interdisciplinary Challenge Teams (ICT) Funding Opportunity: Climate Action Genomics Initiative – Climate-Smart Agriculture and Food Systems Thursday, June 30, 2022
Health Research Foundation Medal of Honour Wednesday, June 22, 2022
Harrington Discovery Institute Harrington Prize for Innovation in Medicine Monday, September 12, 2022
Azrieli Foundation New Ideas to Advance Knowledge in Neurodevelopment Tuesday, May 31, 2022
ALS Canada & Brain Canada 2022 ALS Canada – Brain Canada Discovery Grant Program Tuesday, July 5, 2022
Alberta Labour and Immigration 2022-2023 Supporting Psychological Health in First Responders Monday, June 13, 2022
Chan Zuckerberg Initiative Patient-Partnered Collaborations for Rare Neurodegenerative Disease Tuesday, May 24, 2022
Chan Zuckerberg Initiative Patient-Partnered Collaborations for Single-Cell Analysis of Rare Inflammatory Pediatric Disease Tuesday, May 24, 2022
BBVA Foundation Frontiers of Knowledge Awards Thursday, June 30, 2022
Volvo Environment Prize Foundation Volvo Environment Prize Tuesday, January 10, 2023
The Royal Royal-Mach-Gaensslen Prize for Mental Health Research Friday, July 15, 2022
Brain Canada/Quebec Consortium for Drug Discovery Quantum Leap pharma-led funding program for drug discovery research Thursday, May 19, 2022
CIHR-NRC NRC's Aging in Place Challenge program and CIHR Institute of Aging joint funding call Wednesday, December 22, 2021
Ontario Centre of Innovation Ontario’s Vehicle Innovation Network (OVIN) - Stream 2: Research and Development (R&D) Partnership Fund – C/AV & Smart Mobility Friday, June 3, 2022
Ontario Centre of Innovation Ontario Vehicle Innovation Network: Research and Development (R&D) Partnership Fund – WinterTech Friday, June 3, 2022
Ontario Centre of Innovation Ontario’s Vehicle Innovation Network (OVIN) - Stream 2: R&D Partnership Fund - Electric Vehicle (EV) Friday, June 3, 2022
The Royal Society The Royal Society (UK) International Exchange Scheme Wednesday, June 15, 2022
The Royal Society The Royal Society - Exchange Scheme (Standard Program, 4th round) Wednesday, June 8, 2022
The Royal Society The Royal Society - Exchange Scheme (Standard Program, 4th round) Wednesday, September 28, 2022
Ministry of Northern Development, Mines, Natural Resources and Forestry Forest Sector Investment and Innovation Program Friday, June 17, 2022
National Centre for Truth and Reconciliation (NCTR) and the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) Partnership Engage Grants—Residential Schools Joint Initiative Wednesday, June 15, 2022
Michelson Medical Research Foundation Michelson Prizes: Next Generation Grants Sunday, June 26, 2022
Lab2Market/NSERC Lab2Market (L2M) Program Monday, June 27, 2022
Brain Canada Foundation / Canadian Stroke Consortium / Heart and Stroke Foundation of Canada 2022 Stroke Clinical Research Catalyst Grants Tuesday, May 31, 2022
Infrastructure Canada Disaster Mitigation and Adaptation Fund Wednesday, July 20, 2022