External Research Funding

Important Note Regarding Internal Deadlines
The External Funding Opportunities Database shows opportunities by external deadline.  All external funding applications must be submitted to the Office of Research Services for internal review at least two weeks prior to the external deadline. Special competitions may sometimes involve earlier internal deadlines.

Agencysort descending Program Deadline
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Partnership Engage Grants Monday, March 15, 2021
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council SSHRC Impact Awards Thursday, April 1, 2021
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Connection Grants Saturday, May 1, 2021
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Research Data Management Capacity Building Initiative Saturday, May 1, 2021
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council Research Data Management Capacity Building Initiative Sunday, August 1, 2021
Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council SSHRC Partnership Grants - Stage 1 Wednesday, February 10, 2021
Public Health Agency of Canada Call for Proposals: Preventing and Addressing Family Violence - the Health Perspective Wednesday, January 27, 2021
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Idea to Innovation Grants Monday, March 29, 2021
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Idea to Innovation Grants Monday, June 28, 2021
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Brockhouse Canada Prize for Interdisciplinary Research in Science and Engineering Thursday, April 1, 2021
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council Gerhard Herzberg Canada Gold Medal for Science and Engineering Thursday, April 1, 2021
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council John C. Polanyi Award Thursday, April 1, 2021
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council NSERC Synergy Awards Thursday, April 15, 2021
Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council The NSERC Donna Strickland Prize for Societal Impact of Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Thursday, April 1, 2021
MITACS Mitacs Scotiabank Economic Resilience Research Fund CFP Thursday, February 11, 2021
Department of Defense Defense Health Program Department of Defense Lung Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities for Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21) Tuesday, April 6, 2021
Department of Defense Defense Health Program Department of Defense Ovarian Cancer Research Program Funding Opportunities for Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21) Thursday, April 1, 2021
Department of Defense Defense Health Program Department of Defense Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis Research Program Funding Opportunities for Fiscal Year 2021 (FY21) Friday, April 9, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Chair : Applied Public Health Thursday, March 18, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : E-Rare-5 Joint Transnational Call Tuesday, February 16, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Project Grant: Spring 2021 Thursday, March 4, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : Indigenous Gender and Wellness Team Grant Tuesday, June 22, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : Indigenous Healthy Life Trajectories Initiative Cohort Research Study (I-HeLTI) Wednesday, June 9, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Training Grant : Health Research Training Platform (2021/22 Pilot) Wednesday, April 21, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Operating Grant : Health System Impact Fellowship - National Cohort Retreat Tuesday, March 9, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Other : Hepatitis C Research Tuesday, June 1, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Operating Grant : HIV/AIDS and STBBI Community-Based Research Tuesday, April 27, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : Food Security and Climate Change in the Canadian North Tuesday, April 27, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Other : Summer Program in Aging Thursday, February 25, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Other : Planning and Dissemination Grants – ICS Friday, December 31, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : Indirect Socio-Economic Burden of Inherited Diseases Tuesday, April 13, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Operating Grant : CIHR Network for Emerging Variants Research Thursday, February 18, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Operating Grant : SARS-CoV-2 variants supplement: COVID-19 Rapid Research Funding Opportunity Tuesday, February 23, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Catalyst Grant : STBBI Research in Canada: Beyond HIV/AIDS and Hepatitis C Wednesday, June 9, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Operating Grant : Joint Programme on Neurodegenerative Disease Research (JPND) 2021 Tuesday, March 2, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Other : CIHR-CEPI Leadership Award for Vaccine Research Tuesday, April 20, 2021
Canadian Institutes of Health Research Team Grant : Diabetes Prevention and Treatment in Indigenous Communities: Resilience and Wellness Wednesday, May 26, 2021
Canadian Cancer Society CCS 2020 Awards for Excellence in Cancer Research Wednesday, December 2, 2020
Canada Council Killam Prizes Tuesday, June 30, 2020
The Wenner-Gren Foundation Conference and Workshop Grants Tuesday, June 1, 2021
The Wenner-Gren Foundation Dissertation Fieldwork Grants Saturday, May 1, 2021
The Wenner-Gren Foundation Post-Ph.D. Research Grants Saturday, May 1, 2021
The Wenner-Gren Foundation Fejos Postdoctoral Fellowships (ethnographic film) Saturday, May 1, 2021
The Wenner-Gren Foundation Hunt Postdoctoral Fellowships (writing) Saturday, May 1, 2021
Brain and Behavior Research Foundation BBRF Young Investigator Grant Thursday, March 25, 2021
Employment and Social Development Canada Sectoral Initiatives Program Thursday, March 4, 2021
Employment and Social Development Canada Phase II of the Canada Learning Bond Grants and Contributions Pilot Project Wednesday, March 17, 2021
Brain Canada Bell Let’s Talk-Brain Canada Mental Health Research Program Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Kidney Foundation of Canada Allied Health Kidney Doctoral Fellowship Monday, March 1, 2021
Kidney Foundation of Canada Allied Health Kidney Research Grant Monday, March 1, 2021
Kidney Foundation of Canada 2021 Kidney Health Research Grant Competition Monday, February 1, 2021
Kidney Foundation of Canada Krescent Post-Doctoral Fellowship / Krescent New Investigator Award Monday, February 1, 2021
National Research Council of Canada (NRC) Canada – South Korea 2021 collaborative industrial research and development call for proposals Thursday, February 25, 2021
National Research Council of Canada (NRC) 2021 Euripides²/PENTA joint call for proposals Friday, February 26, 2021
National Research Council of Canada (NRC) EUREKA SMART Cluster’s fourth call for proposals Wednesday, March 24, 2021
Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation Smart Farming Innovations for Small-Scale Producers Thursday, February 25, 2021
American Chemical Society ACS Petroleum Research Fund Friday, March 12, 2021
Human Frontier Science Program HFSP Research Grant Program Thursday, March 18, 2021
GlycoNet Clinical Partnerships Thursday, April 15, 2021
GlycoNet Translational Grants Thursday, April 15, 2021
GlycoNet Strategic Initiatives Thursday, April 15, 2021
The Canadian Bar Association Law for the Future Fund Saturday, May 1, 2021
The Gairdner Foundation Call for Nominations: Canada Gairdner Wightman Award Thursday, October 1, 2020
Crohn’s and Colitis Canada Grants-in-Aid of Research Wednesday, March 10, 2021
Global Affairs Canada Faculty Mobility for Partnership Building Program Thursday, February 25, 2021
Canadian Blood Services Winter 2021 Kenneth J. Fyke Award Program Friday, March 19, 2021
Canadian Blood Services 2021 Intramural Research Grant Program Competition Friday, February 26, 2021
Canadian Space Agency Data and Sample Mining (DM) or Research Models (RM): Announcement of Opportunity (AO) for Health & Life Sciences Friday, June 4, 2021
Canadian Space Agency Developing innovative food production technologies with the Deep Space Food Challenge Friday, July 30, 2021
Environment and Climate Change Canada Environmental Damages Fund Wednesday, February 24, 2021
Gairdner Foundation The Canada Gairdner International Awards Thursday, October 1, 2020
Gairdner Foundation The John Dirks Canada Gairdner Global Health Award Thursday, October 1, 2020
CIHR/Joint Programming Initiative on Antimicrobial Resistance Operating Grant : 13th JPIAMR transnational call for research projects (2021) Tuesday, March 16, 2021
Ministry of the Environment, Conservation and Parks Forest Sector Investment and Innovation Program Friday, March 19, 2021
Royal Society of Canada 2021 RSC Medals & Awards Wednesday, March 31, 2021
Ministry of Colleges and Universities Skills Development Fund Sunday, February 28, 2021
Agriculture and Agri-Food Canada AgriRisk Initiatives: Microgrants Friday, March 31, 2023
CMC Microsystems Douglas R. Colton award Friday, August 14, 2020
Canadian Science Policy Centre CSPC 2020 Awards Friday, August 28, 2020
EU Joint Programme – Neurodegenerative Disease Research (JPND) / Canada, Brain Canada Foundation/Women’s Brain Health Initiative A sex and gender approach to linking pre-diagnosis disturbances of physiological systems to neurodegenerative diseases Tuesday, March 2, 2021
Chan Zuckerberg Initiative Pediatric Networks for the Human Cell Atlas Tuesday, March 30, 2021
Stratas Foundation Stratas Foundation 2021 Winter Award Sunday, February 28, 2021
Accessibility Standards Canada Call for proposals for the Advancing Accessibility Standards Research program Thursday, March 25, 2021
Bell Post-Secondary Fund Friday, February 26, 2021
Ministry for Seniors and Accessibility EnAbling Change Program Friday, March 26, 2021
SickKids Foundation/CIHR Operating Grant : New Investigator Grants in Child and Youth Health (2021) Tuesday, April 20, 2021