Indigenous Partnership Research Award


  • Dr. Vicki Kristman, Department Health Sciences, and Audrey Gilbeau, Executive Director, Nokiiwin Tribal Council. 


  • Dr. Christopher Mushquash, Department of Psychology, Canada Research Chair, and Director of the Centre for Rural and Northern Health Research; and Tina Bobinski, Assistant Director of Mental Health and Addictions, Dilico Anishinabek   Family Care.


Dr. Frederico Oliveira, Department of Anthropology, and Clifford Bull, Chief, Lac Seul First Nation for their collaborative project, A Tridimensional Approach to First Nations’ Land Use and Occupancy in Northwestern Ontario: an Applied and Culturally Relevant Pilot Study.

  • Dr. Ruth Beatty, Faculty of Education, Lakehead Orillia, and Christina Ruddy, First Nations partner, for their project, Connecting Anishinaabe and Western Mathematical Ways of Knowing.


  • Improving End-of-Life Care in First Nations Communities:  Dr. Mary Lou Kelley & Holly Prince with research team members from Lakehead University and McMaster University, and partners from Fort William First Nation, Six Nations of the Grand River Territory,    Naotkamegwanning First Nation, and Peguis First Nation.