Achievements & Honours

Awards and Honours

Lakehead University is ranked among the top ten most inventive universities in Canada by the Impact Group and ranked #1 in Canada for publishing in Aboriginal Studies. Our faculty members nurture scholarship in teaching and research by expanding the frontiers of human knowledge and giving our students the tools to think for themselves.

2013 Alumni Award Winners

Young Alumni Awards

Crystal Luchkiw (HBASc ’09)
Family Medicine Resident, McMaster University

Michael Thorn (HBASc’10, HBSc’11)
PhD Candidate, University of Western Ontario

Mehdi Dashtban (PhD’12)
Researcher and Postdoctoral Fellow

Deanna Burgart (BEng’10)
Aboriginal Mentor, Speaker, and Engineer

Alumni Honour Awards

Linda Rodenburg (HBA/BEd ’99)
Lecturer, Lakehead University Orillia

Arnold Park (BA’71, Grad Dip Bus’72)
Former CEO, McCain Foods

Dolores Wawia (BEd’83, MEd’85)
Professor of Aboriginal Education

Read more about the Alumni Association at

Lakehead University Research and Innovation Award Winners

High Output and Publication Excellence Award (HOPE)
Awarded to a graduate student who is the first author of a peer-reviewed publication

1.  William Dew, PhD Biotechnology
2.  Badalkumar Shah, PhD Biotechnology
3.  Erin Cameron, PhD Educational Studies

Graduate Studies Conference Best of the Best, Oral Presentations

Winner of Lakehead's Research and Innovation Week Best Oral Presentation

  • Daniel Kremer, MSc, Control Engineering

Graduate Student Conference Best of the Best, Poster Presentations

Winner of Lakehead's Research and Innovation Week Best Poster Presentation)

  • Ashley Untereiner, PhD, Biotechnology


Emerging Young Research Scientist Awards

1.  Balaji Venkatesagowda
2.  Sarathi Mani
3.  Kai Yan


2012 SSHRC Distinguished Researcher Award

Sonja Grover, Education


2012 NSERC Distinguished Researcher Award
Aicheng Chen, Chemistry, Canada Research Chair in Materials and Environmental Chemistry


Contributions to Research Award

  • Paul Carr, Sociology/Interdisciplinary Studies (Orillia)
  • Chander Shahi, Natural Resources Management


Building Research Capacity Award for 2012

Alex Lawson, Lisa Korteweg, and Christina van Barneveld, Education, for the Multi-Data Convergence Lab


2012 Aboriginal Partnership Research Award

  • Scott Hamilton, Anthropology
  • Jill Taylor-Hollings, Anthropology (University of Alberta and Lakehead University)
  • Lac Seul First Nation
  • Pikangikum First Nation
  • Doug Gilmore (Woodland Caribou Provincial Park/Ontario Parks)


2012 Lakehead University Innovation Award

Chris Murray, Interdisciplinary Studies (Orillia)


Lakehead University 2012 Teaching Awards

Lakehead University Distinguished Instructor Award

Judith Leggatt, English


Lakehead University Contribution to Teaching Awards

  • Daniel Hannah, English
  • Mary Louise Hill, Geology
  • Richard Khoury, Software Engineering
  • Linda Rodenburg, Interdisciplinary Studies (Orillia)
  • Mirella Stroink, Psychology
  • Adam Van Tuyl, Mathematical Sciences


National/International Awards

New Canada Research Chair (CRC)

Pauline Sameshima, Tier 2 CRC in Arts Integrated Studies


The Queen Elizabeth II Diamond Jubilee Medal Winners
(Awarded by the Government of Canada)

  • Bob Jickling, Education Professor Emeritus (environmental education)
  • Sher Ali Mirza, Civil Engineering Professor Emeritus (structural engineering)
  • Mary Lou Kelley, Social Work Professor and Research Chair in Palliative Care (palliative care)


2013 Canadian Catalysis Lectureship Award

(Canadian Catalysis Foundation)

Aicheng Chen, Chemistry Professor and Canada Research Chair


President's New Researcher Award for 2013 

(Canadian Psychological Association)

Christopher Mushquash, Psychology


Leverhulme Trust Visiting Fellowship

(York St. John University, United Kingdom)

John Gotwals, Kinesiology



Faculty Publications

The Centre for Northern Studies (CNS) releases its latest book, Pulp Friction: Communities and Forest Industry in a Global Perspective. Edited by History Professor Dr. Ronald N. Harpelle and Chair Dr. Michel S. Beaulieu.

Department of Sociology Professor Dr. Dalibor Mišina publishes his book, Shake, Rattle and Roll: Yugoslav Rock Music and the Poetics of Social Critique.

Dr. Sonja Grover, Professor, Faculty of Education, has published a new book called Humanity’s Children: ICC Jurisprudence and the Failure to Address the Genocidal Forcible Transfer of Children.

The book Economy as Cultural System: Theory, Capitalism, Crisis has appeared in soft and hard covers at Bloomsbury Books. The book's editors, Todd Dufresne and Clara Sacchetti, teach in Lakehead's Department of Philosophy and completed the book during their year at The University of Toronto.

Dr. Chris Parkes, Department of English, launched his book Children's Literature and Capitalism: Fictions of Social Mobility in Britain, 1850-1914 (published by Palgrave Macmillan) in November.

Dr. Harvey Lemelin’s book The Management of Insects in Recreation and Tourism was released by Cambridge University Press on January 1, 2013.

Read more Lakehead news and stories in the 2012-13 Annual Report

Internal Recognitions

Lakehead internally recognizes the research efforts of our faculty members and successes through the following awards:


40/40 Research Stars

To help celebrate our 40th Anniversary, Lakehead issued a call for members of the Lakehead University community to submit nominations for 40 Research Stars: 40 faculty members whose consistent and significant research excellence and productivity achieved at Lakehead University have been recognized locally, nationally, and internationally.

40/40 Research Stars