Faculty History

Lakehead University began as the Lakehead Technical Institute in 1946 and classes in forestry were first offered in September 1948. That year, the institute rolled out two-year programs that led to diplomas in Forest Technology and Mining Technology; first-year courses in Arts and Applied Science were also available.

The Lakehead Technical Institute was renamed Lakehead College of Arts, Science and Technology in 1957. It was granted university powers in 1962, enabling it to establish faculties and to confer degrees in arts and science. After these degrees were first awarded in 1965, the new university continued to offer both degree and diploma programs.

In 1965 the Forestry Degree Program was initiated, where students could complete the first two years of a professional Bachelor of Science in Forestry degree, for subsequent transfer and advanced standing at either University of Toronto or University of New Brunswick. By 1967, the one-year Certificate in Forest Research Technology was launched for students who had completed the two-year Forest Technology Diploma Program. The Ontario government authorized the granting of an undergraduate forestry degree in 1971. The first graduating class for this degree graduated in May of 1973. A Master of Science in Forestry degree came online in 1977.

Academic restructuring was completed in 1994, as the former School became a Faculty within Lakehead University. Today there are two undergraduate degrees in the Faculty of Natural Resources Management, the HBScF and HBEM, as well as two graduate degrees: MScF and PhD in Forest Sciences.

We have more than fifty years of experience behind us, we look forward with pride and anticipation to the next fifty years. In the short term we aim to carry on program expansion into distributed learning (distance education) and international joint degrees.