Advisory Board

The purpose of the EPID@Work Advisory Board Committee is to provide guiding recommendations to the Director and Management Committee to direct Institute activities. The committee was created to ensure guidance from all vital stakeholders: injured workers, unions, employers, health care, compensation and legislation. These perspectives will assist in the development of each of the core research theme areas: special populations of interest, musculoskeletal injury, and mental health in the workplace. Members will be advocates for the Institute.

Members include the EPID@Work Director, the Lakehead University VPRI (or designate), and two representatives from each of the following groups:

  • Injured workers and/or union representatives
  • Employer representatives
  • Health care representatives
  • Compensation or legislation representatives

2022-2023 Advisory Board Membership

Steve Mantis (Thunder Bay & Dist. Injured Workers Support Group)

Jules Tupker (Retired Union Representative) 

Amy Kembel (Synergy North) 

Matthew Mayer (WSIB) 

Margaret Cernigoj (Ministry of Labour) 

Joel Andersen (Occupational Physician) 

Pierre Cote (Researcher & Chiropractor)

Batia Stolar (Lakehead University, VPRI designate)