Department Members Awarded New SSHRC Grants

3 October 2012 - Thunder Bay
The Department of History is pleased to announce that Dr. Ronald Harpelle and Dr. Michel S Beaulieu have been awarded over $200,000 in Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council (SSHRC) Grants.
Dr. Harpelle is the principal Investigator on a $113,588 grant entitled "Pulp Friction: The Intersection of Globalization and Community." This project will produce a documentary film and website focused on shifting economies in the pulp and paper industry. His collaborators on the grant are former Lakehead University Finnish Chair, Dr. Hanna Snellman (University of Helsinki),  Dr. Diego Piñeiro (Universidad de la República, Uruguay), Thomas W. Dunk (Brock University), and Bruce W. Muirhead (University of Waterloo).
Dr. Beaulieu is the principal investigator on a grant worth $76,600.  This new media project is entitled "'Hard Work Conquers All': Mobilizing Knowledge about the Finnish Experience in Canada," and it will turn the Finnish Labour Temple in Thunder Bay into a virtual museum. Dr. Harpelle is a co-applicant on the project, and collaborators include Kelly J. Saxberg, Samira S. Saramo (York University), and Dr. Hanna Snellman (University of Helsinki). Partners include the City of Thunder Bay, Finlandia Association of Thunder Bay, Lakehead University Library, Northwestern Ontario Archivists Association, Thunder Bay Finnish-Canadian Historical Society, and the Thunder Bay Historical Museum Society.
Dr. Harpelle has also been awarded a SSHRC  LOI worth $20,000 for the development of a Partnership Grant project "Research TV: A New Media Network for Social Science and Humanities Research." Co-applicants include Dr. Connie Nelson (Lakehead University), Dr. Noreen Golfman (Memorial University of Newfoundland), and Dr. Myra Hird (Queen's University). Dr. Wesley Shrum (Louisiana State University) is also a collaborator. Partners on the grant include ItSticks Inc., Lakehead University, Memorial University of Newfoundland, Queen's University, University of Alberta - Division of Community Engagement, University of Saskatchewan - Division of Social Sciences, College of Arts and Science, Resources and Sustainable Development in the Arctic:  A Northern Research Network, Yukon College, and Confederation College.